Skip to content

National Sewing Month #7 – A Little Something Sweet

September 14, 2012

It’s been a busy week – and not much time to head into the sewing room/office. I’m going to need to make up for that this weekend. One project on deck is a new hammock. The old canvas one gave up the ghost earlier this summer. . . but that’s another post.

This Saturday, the Minneapolis – St. Paul Sewing Guild Chapter Advisory Board (CAB) will host neighborhood sewing group leaders for an appreciation luncheon. It’s always lovely to feel appreciated and well taken care of. A dear friend of mine has a business that specializes in client appreciation  – check it out at Touch Your Client’s Heart. I love the fun and creative ideas she shares on her Facebook page daily.

Pin Cushion Cupcakes

Pin cushion cupcakes wait to be boxed for the American Sewing Guild Neighborhood Group Leader Appreciation Luncheon.

So to demonstrate my admiration for the group leaders – I decided to venture into a new realm. No – a pan of brownies would not be sufficient – not at all. I joked about making cupcakes look like thimbles – and then it hit me. Cupcakes to look like pin cushions. Most people don’t know that I’ve taken several cake decorating courses a number of years ago.  I’ve never met a buttercream that I haven’t liked!  So I baked, made frosting and fondant and . . . tah dah . . . here they are pin cushions cupcakes. I was a little disappointed that the old silver dragee decorations that I remember cracking my teeth on as a kid have been replaced with duller colored “pearls”. But it was a fun little exercise in trying something completely new and now I feel like I can tackle some of the everyday things I need to do secure in the knowledge that when a challenge comes along – I’m up to it!

Some friends think I’m a little crazy. I’m also the girl who invites company over and makes something I’ve never made before for dinner because the recipe looked interesting and feeds 6!  How do you approach the opportunity to try something new?

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Anderson permalink
    September 15, 2012 8:28 pm

    They were very good as well as looking good.

    • September 16, 2012 7:57 am

      I’m so glad. After they were all made – I got a little worried. Funny how that happens.

  2. Lori Clark permalink
    September 17, 2012 12:02 pm

    I got a few of the leftovers. Thank you. They were very tasty. The men that I shared them with recognized them as pincushions. Mission accomplished!

Leave a comment