Skip to content

Sleep tight little ones

March 26, 2013

Completed flannel pillowcases for Operation Slumber Party and Light Up the Night

Twelve colorful flannel pillowcases displayed on my sewing room table while additional flannel “cuts” await the right “matching” fabric to be transformed into snuggly comfort for a hospitalized child.

Every now and then I see a heart-wrenching story on the news or in a blog about a small child afflicted with a dreaded illness. Typically I cry. While my darling 8 year old daughter can sometimes frustrate and confound me – I never want to experience the pain, anxiety and helplessness that I imagine hospitalized kids and their parents go through. So when the chance to sew pillowcases for Operation Slumber Party and Light Up the Night knocked on my sewing room door  through my association with the Minneapolis-St. Paul American Sewing Guild Chapter– I set some other projects aside to work on some fuzzy, comforting flannel pillowcases to contribute to the cause. Not only is it a good cause, but as I’ve learned from my experience as a sewing teacher at Sewtropolis, pillowcases are great learn to sew projects.

If you can help – by spreading the word about this endeavor, by contributing time or materials – I’m certain the organizers would be most grateful.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

