Skip to content

National Sewing Month #5 – Boomerang!

September 9, 2012

I swung by one of my favorite independent sewing shops in the whole world – Sewtropolis – the other day.

A girl and her doll

Justine and “Jennifer” her 18 inch fashion doll are lounging this cool autumn morning in their matching white tees and Be Merry Flannel lounge pants. (A Kwik Sew pattern.)

While the shop moved closer to my neighborhood (like easy walking distance) – I need to pace myself while there because I still have UFOs to work on.

While I staffed there – I found the cutest pink flannel with snowmen (Be Merry by Riley Blake.) It whispered to me, “make something for your daughter.” A while later we needed a sample of kid sized lounge pants and so with a Kwik Sew pattern in hand – I made them. With my BabyLock Serger it was a speedy process – love that the serger takes care of the tedious chore of finishing seams for me!

The “tricky” part of pants – especially these with snowmen facing only one direction – I wound up with a lot of scraps – good sized scraps that I can make something else with! And so from scraps an 18″ fashion doll sized pair of pants appeared as well. Things got busy, life changed and I worked less and less at the shop. The sample lounge pants faded into memory. Until this week – when I saw them on the sample rack and scooped them up! Perfect fit for my growing 7 year old!

I love it when good things come back around! Isn’t that how life should be?

Now one of these weekends I need to dig into the pink fleece that is to become matching sweatshirts for her and her doll! Maybe later this month?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

