Skip to content

National Sewing Month #1 – It’s a tie

September 2, 2012

Why “Hello September! How did you sneak up on me so fast?”

Rose made from a necktie

Project #1 for National Sewing Month – A rose made from a necktie!

I’m looking forward to more temperate days and Sunday afternoons with football. And with the announcement of National Sewing Month – the challenge and opportunity to create something everyday! We’ll see if I can extend my record from the 30 Days of Creativity exercise on the web in June. I managed to last all of a week. Believe me – the intention was there, the ability to record and report it was not.

The past two weeks have been devoted to a degree to mending and reuse/recycling. Mostly because I had the great opportunity to do a speaking gig at the Eco-Experience at the MN State Fair last weekend about sewing as part of my involvement with the Minneapolis-St. Paul Chapter of the American Sewing Guild (ASG).  As I was in “follow-up mode” from the ASG time at the fair – I came across an interesting post – creating roses from men’s neckties.

So – or should it be sew- I started off my 30 days of sewing in September by raiding my husband’s stash of neckties (with his permission) to create the beauty shown here. It took a little practice – but now that I’ve done it, I may start raiding garage sales to see what fun fabrics I can find inexpensively to make a few more of these.

And now – off the the sewing room to see what I can work on for Day 2. UFO’s beware. . .

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Anderson permalink
    September 2, 2012 5:29 pm

    I love how that turned out. I saw that idea on the ASG website and thought it looked neat. Love the tie you used.

  2. September 4, 2012 8:57 pm

    Thanks Mary. I’m lucky to have a husband dug through his ties to share a lesser used one with me. It’s an interesting process. I wish the photos on the ASG site used a lighter colored tie so that one could see the details.

Trackbacks

  1. National Sewing Month #9 – A Sander, A Serger and A Stapler « Em-perical-1

Leave a Reply

