Skip to content

Jersey Girl – She’s No Snookie

December 3, 2010

Sporting a perfect "10" for jersey day at school!

It’s spirit week at my daughter’s school – each day the kids are to wear a certain color or item. Shouldn’t be too difficult- right? Then we got to jersey day. Sadly, I’m not that much of a fan of any sport teams to pay the cash for a jersey. I’ll confess – I do have a Packer jersey complete with my last name on the back (because there was a player on the team with the same last name.) It was a Valentine gift from my husband the year I managed a public relations campaign for a commercial that was played during the Super Bowl.

But none of that was going to help now. We needed a jersey. So down to the sewing room daughter and I dashed. I pulled out some fabric and a photo from the Kwik Sew Sewing for Toddlers book. (She’s no longer a toddler, but I was able to upsize the pattern to fit her.) Some cutting, pinning and sewing – literally simply an evening and daughter had her very own personalized baseball style jersey – white with purple flowered sleeves and the number “10” on the front and back. It was made from remnants of knit fabric I had from other projects for her. I used a fuseable product to do the numbers and then zig zagged the edges like an applique.

The significance of the 10 – I’m not sure – she said something about 10 being the perfect age. She might be on to something.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

