Skip to content

Pastel Confections for an Early Easter?

April 4, 2010

Easter Dress

No tulips blooming in this Easter photo.

The Easter’s of my childhood seem to feature warm sunny weather and pretty spring dressed with bare legs and white lace anklets. Could I be dreaming? Perhaps I’m living vicariously through some 1970 ad campaign I remember? I grew up in Southern Wisconsin – and am now living in Minnesota. While I know the North-South variance of 100 miles or so can mean a lot (and the proximity to Lake Michigan), I’m just not buying how cold it still feels here. (Even if March was snowless.)

Following an old family tradition, I decided to make my daughter an Easter dress. Dreaming of pastel confections, puffy short sleeves and polished white shoes, reality hit when I checked the calendar. Realizing it could be a chilly day, I elected to go the safe route with a cute Burda pattern I picked up a while back and raided my stash for some lovely brightly printed corduroy. The front box pleat took a bit of adjusting, but the rest of the outfit worked up quickly. So I was able to have it completed in plenty of time for Easter Sunday.

Wouldn’t you know, Easter Sunday dawned at little more warmly than expected. The corduroy may have been a little warm, but the only pastel confections appreciated were the marshmallow peeps in the Easter basket.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

